Skip to main content
Stay in the North East

Search Results

For: North East

Welcome to North East

One of the smallest regions in the country

The North East, one of the smallest regions in the country, consists of four sub-regions of Northumberland, Tyne and Wear, County Durham and the Tees Valley.

The history and character of the region has been uniquely shaped by their ancestors over the course of the region’s history. At times, that history has been turbulent, with border conflicts leaving a lasting legacy of defensive sites such as Hadrian’s Wall and the many castles that are found here. The breathtaking Northumberland coast is peppered with once magnificent castles such as Dunstanburgh and Warkworth.

The region was also an early centre for conversion to Christianity and an Holy Islandimportant seat of learning, connected with historic scholars such as St Cuthbert and the Venerable Bede. Holy Island, sacred home to Lindisfarne Priory, still remains a place of pilgrimage.

More recently, the region has been celebrated for its industrial heritage. Birthplace of the modern railway and home to numerous collieries, shipyards, lead mines and metal works, the North East region and its people have played their part in powering the nation.

The region has two world heritage sites, Hadrian’s Wall and Durham Castle and Cathedral.

Suggested Things To Do

For: North East

More Suggested Things To Do